Classic Realcent Archives
Classic Realcent Archives
Home | Profile | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Bullion Coins and Metals Investing Forums
 Nickel Bullion & CuNi Bullion Coins
 Obtaining Nickels
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

theo
Penny Hoarding Member

USA
588 Posts

Posted - 02/02/2009 :  18:42:27  Show Profile Send theo a Private Message
I'm fairly new to the idea of building a store of nickels. I have about 21 rolls right now (small potatoes I know). Not wanting to stick out; I started by just asking for a roll of nickels with my cash once or twice a month; then I started asking for two. Today I asked for $10 in coins (4 rolls of nickels an four of pennies). Again I'd rather the bank personnel not notice I'm hoarding coins so I'm rotating bank branches. Anyway I guess I have two questions:

1. What will the banks do when/if they realize some coins are being pulled out of circulation for their metal content despite the anti-melting law? Would they even care? I could envision banks starting to limit to amount of coinage they can hand out.

2. This one is obvious - How do I continue to build up my stash without raising too many eyebrows?

Thanks

Theo

fb101
Administrator

USA
2856 Posts

Posted - 02/02/2009 :  19:34:11  Show Profile Send fb101 a Private Message
I tell people I'm a coin collector chasing wheat pennies and buffaloes. I pull $200 in nickels from one bank and $100 each from two different banks every week. Once in a while I bring in a buffalo or nice wheat penny to show someone. I pull pennies from everywhere, and generally no one cares. You're being way too cautious. If you don't want them to know you're hoarding, don't tell them. But don't worry about picking up coins, because they really don't care. Be nice though and try to avoid dumping where you pickup, that sometimes offends people.