Classic Realcent Archives
Classic Realcent Archives
Home | Profile | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Bullion Coins and Metals Investing Forums
 Copper Penny Bullion Investing
 good sign or bad?
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

centsless
Penny Pincher Member

119 Posts

Posted - 05/12/2007 :  17:28:27  Show Profile Send centsless a Private Message
I am rather new to this and was surprised at what happened today. wondering if i should be or not. i went to my bank and got 10 rolls of pennies. they were hand wrapped. Of the 500 pennies , only 54 were zinc. there were 18 '82s and the remaining 428 were copper. Somebody did almost exactly the opposite of what i was doing, they returned copper pennies to the bank. about 100 of the older dates were in BU condition, majority of those were 1959 and after. also got a 46, 56D and 57 all in AU. is there something i dont know that i should? should i stop hoarding copper pennies? or is someone just desperate for cash and breaking the piggy bank? most of the 82s and 83s were bu also.

n/a
deleted

103 Posts

Posted - 05/12/2007 :  17:39:29  Show Profile Send n/a a Private Message
That was me centless. The jig is up. No reason to hoard copper cents anymore with the melting ban.

Not really. My guess that who ever it was that turned them in had no idea what value they held. A lot of folks hold onto coins for years and then do the same. What do you think is going to happen to all those state quarters that were push on us a while back? Most folks will get tired of having them hang around the house in a few years and cash them in. In most cases it's not that they are desperate for cash.