Classic Realcent Archives
Classic Realcent Archives
Home | Profile | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Private Messages | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Bullion Coins and Metals Investing Forums
 Nickel Bullion & CuNi Bullion Coins
 Pure Nickle is NOT magnetic.
 Forum Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

n/a
deleted

478 Posts

Posted - 07/03/2007 :  18:15:22  Show Profile Send n/a a Private Message
People telling you that canadian nickles from the '70's and '80s are made from pure nickel are wrong. I work in the welding industry and have worked with pure nickel extensively. Pure nickel will not attract a magnet. Candian nickels will...and very strongly.

Better check your resources because someone is BS-ing you.

Ardent Listener
Administrator

USA
4841 Posts

Posted - 07/03/2007 :  19:44:13  Show Profile Send Ardent Listener a Private Message
If anyone knows more about this please post.

You must be logged in to see this link.

Nickel is a silvery white metal that takes on a high polish. It belongs to the transition metals, and is hard and ductile. It occurs most usually in combination with sulfur and iron in pentlandite, with sulfur in millerite, with arsenic in the mineral niccolite, and with arsenic and sulfur in nickel glance.

Because of its permanence in air and its inertness to oxidation, it is used in coins, for plating iron, brass, etc., for chemical apparatus, and in certain alloys, such as German silver. It is magnetic, and is very frequently accompanied by cobalt, both being found in meteoric iron. It is chiefly valuable for the alloys it forms, especially many superalloys, and particularly stainless steel.

Nickel is one of the five ferromagnetic elements. However, the U.S. "nickel" coin is not magnetic, because it actually is mostly (75%) copper. The Canadian nickel minted at various periods between 1922-81 was 99.9% nickel, and these were magnetic.